• Ph.D. Electrical Engineering
    Stanford University, 1983
  • M.Sc. Electrical Engineering
    Technion, Israel, 1979
  • B.Sc. Electrical Engineering
    Technion, Israel, 1976
  • Fellow of the AAAS (since 2012), Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society (since 1996), Fellow of the IEEE (since 1994), Life Fellow of the IEEE (since 2017).
  • The Eugene and Martha Lohman Professor of Electrical Engineering, inaugural holder,
    WUSTL, since 2006
  • Chairman, Preston M. Green Department of Electrical & Systems Engineering,
    WUSTL, January 2006 to June 2016
  • Professor (joint/courtesy appointments), Division of Biology and Biomedical Sciences (DBBS), Division of Biostatistics, Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Department of Computer Science and Engineering, WUSTL.
  • Director, Center for Sensor Signal and Information Processing,
    WUSTL, since 2006
  • Recipient, 2009 Meritorious Service Award,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society
  • Recipient, 2006 Technical Achievement Award,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society
  • Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE Signal Processing Society,
  • Recipient, University Scholar Award,
    University of Illinois, 2001-2004
  • Principal Investigator, Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant on Adaptive Waveform Design for Full Spectral Dominance,
    DOD/AFOSR, 2005-2010
  • Member of the Board of Governors and Executive Committee,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society,

    January 2003 to December 2005
  • Chair of the Publications Board, IEEE Signal Processing Society,
    January 2003 to December 2005
  • Vice President (Publications), IEEE Signal Processing Society,
    January 2003 to December 2005
  • Founding Editor, Special Columns on Leadership Reflections,
    IEEE Signal Processing Magazine,
  • Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering Division,
    UIC, 2001-2002
  • Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing,
    January 2000 to December 2002
  • Co-General Chair, First and Second IEEE SAM Workshops,
    2002 and 2004
  • Chair and Co-founding Member, Technical Committee on Sensor Array and Multichannel (SAM), Processing,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society, 2000-2002
  • Associate Editor of five IEEE journals and three others,
    from 1987
  • Co-author of best paper awards in student competitions,
    IEEE CAMSAP, 2013; WDD, 2012; Asilomar Conf., 2010; IEEE Radar Conf., 2010; WDD, 2010; and IEEE ICASSP, 2006
  • Recipient, Magazine Paper Award,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society, 2004
  • Co-author of Young Author Best Paper Award,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society, 2003
  • Recipient, Senior Award for Best Paper,
    IEEE Signal Processing Society, 1989